R&B star August Alsina announces release of debut album ‘Testimony’


Fast-rising R&B star, August Alsina has released the tracklisting for his debut album, ‘Testimony,’ which is set to be released on April 15th. The thirteen track LP arrives laden with features, with the likes of Rick Ross, Fabolous and Yo Gotti making an appearance amongst many others, including Jeezy, who features on the New Orleans native’s previous single and one of my favourite songs, the poignant ‘Make It Home‘. The 21-year-old first garnered a name for himself by singing covers on Youtube, before catching the attention of Def Jam who promptly snapped him up to their record label. Fast forward a few years later, and August now has five mixtapes and an EP, entitled ‘Downtown: Life Under The Gun” under his belt, he gears up to present his first full-length album.

Originally published on Yahoo! Celebrity UK.

Check out the full track listing of ‘Testimony’ below:

1. Testify
2. Make It Home (Featuring, Jeezy)
3. Right There
4. You Deserve
5. No Love
6. Porn Star
7. FML (Featuring, Pusha T)
8. Grind & Pray/Get Ya Money (Featuring, Fabolous)
9. Ghetto (Featuring, Yo Gotti)
10. Kissin’ On My Tattoos
11. Ah Yeah
12. Mama
13. Benediction (Featuring Rick Ross)
14. I Luv This S*** (Featuring, Trinidad Jame$) [Bonus Track]
15. Numb (Featuring, B.o.B and Yo Gotti) [Bonus Track]

I’ve known about August for a while now, and it’s great to see him finally achieving mainstream success, in a world where many have pasts they’d rather forget, August is an artist with a backstory similar to that of many rappers, except he delivers the vivid facts of his life and journey as an R&B singer instead, yet without the typical, standard style of his peers. The singer-songwriter sings often about the death of his brother, and his honest, genuine lyrics coupled with the pain and anguish of a story that’s primarily focused around survival is something that’s rare, and August may be young, but he far from indulges in the various self-indulgent vices of a career in music and instead focuses on what’s truly important. I just know his debut offering will be the ultimate work of someone who has discovered their purpose in life – and is more than ready to fulfil it, now more than ever.

I recently saw August perform at renowned urban haunt, ‘Musicalize‘ at London’s Indigo2 (at the 02 arena) and despite the fact that he had been suffering from a cold and had been performing and travelling around Europe on his first trip here – he still delivered to the best of his ability, in fact, you wouldn’t even notice that he was under the weather unless he’d told you in advance. I’m sure a UK tour announcement will be next on his list.

In the mean time, watch ‘Make It Home’ below:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s