Mariah Carey is back! Superstar unveils track-listing for “Me: I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse”

Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 15.37.05

The vocal powerhouse that is miss, Mariah Carey, has finally announced the track listing for her upcoming album, “Me: I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse.” Yes, the name is really that long. The LP will be Mariah’s fourteenth studio offering (yes, you did read that right, I did say fourteenth) and is scheduled to be released on 27th May 2014 – marking her first album release in five years, since ‘Memoirs Of A Perfect Angel’ was revealed in 2009, and nine years after my favourite Mariah album ‘The Emancipation of Mimi‘ (who can forget ‘We Belong Together?‘ arrived back in 2005).

Originally published on Yahoo! Celebrity UK.

Although the name is definitely the longest out of her lengthy discography and essentially quite a mouthful (I can just about say it in one breath before I promptly run out of oxygen!), the album’s title has been in the making for a number of decades now, as Mariah reveals in an exclusive behind-the-scenes video. “On the back of this album is a personal treasure,” Mariah begins, as she reveals a drawing. “This is my first and only self-portrait, I drew it when I was three and half,” she continues as she explains that the title is quite simplistic because of her age at the time of the picture. “I’ve decided to share it with those of you who actually care and have been through it with me, thought it all,” she adds as she insists that despite her nicknames and various personas she’ll always be Mariah, thus the name of her latest album.

[Mariah Carey’s ‘You’re Mine’ (Eternal) offers a soft R&B sound ]

Aside from the standard edition of the album featuring collaborations with Nas, Miguel, and rappers Fabolous and Wale, and the deluxe edition features appearances from the likes of both Mary J Blige and R Kelly. Mariah’s upcoming album also features a track called “Supernatural,” featuring none other than her three-year old twins with Nick Cannon, Monroe and Moroccan, collectively referred to as “DemBabies.” Awww, that does sound quite cute indeed.

However, I have to admit that when I first heard one of Mariah’s recent tracks, ‘You’re Mine (Eternal)‘, a couple of months ago, I was quite disappointed. Even the fact Trey Songz was on the remix wasn’t enough to make me listen to the track more than twice (at most!) but looking at this tracklisting, Mariah appears to have a stellar line-up of artists and songs which will certainly only further complement her album, as she tries to achieve the success she achieved so easily in the past. It’ll be interesting to see how much this album sells in the first week, but I’ll definitely be listening to it when it’s released nonetheless.

The tracklisting for the album is below:

1. Cry
2. Faded
3. Dedicated [Featuring, Nas]
4. Beautiful [Featuring, Miguel]
5. Thirsty
6. Make It Look Good
7. You’re Mine (Eternal)
8. You Don’t Know What To Do [Featuring, Wale]
9. Supernatural [Featuring, Dem Babies]
10. Meteorite
11. Camouflage
12. Money [Featuring Fabolous]
13. One More Try
14. Heavenly (No Ways Tired/Can’t Give Up Now)
15. Me. I Am Mariah…The Elusive Chanteuse
16. It’s A Wrap [Featuring. Mary J. Blige] [Deluxe Edition Only]
17. Betcha Gon’ Know [Featuring, R. Kelly] [Deluxe Edition Only]
18. The Art of Letting Go [Deluxe Edition Only]

“Me: I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse,” will be released on May 27th 2014.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s